News & Press: The Iowa State Bar Association News

Five more counties granted extensions on state tax filings

Wednesday, May 15, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Zach Zuber
Share |
The Iowa Department of Revenue (IDR) has granted an extension and suspension of any penalty or interest to taxpayers in five additional Iowa counties – Clinton, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott and Wapello -- affected by flooding on the Mississippi River. This means residents and business owners in three of those counties have until June 30 to file tax returns on all tax types except property taxes or other taxes administered by county or local governments. 

Louisa and Scott and seven other counties – Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Shelby and Woodbury – along the state’s western border have until July 31 to file tax returns. 

Taxpayers impacted by the floods, but not residing in the counties included in Gov. Kim Reynolds’ disaster declaration, can file a penalty waiver request with the IDR. 

More information about the IDR extensions, and answers to frequently asked questions, can be found at this link.

From the Iowa Lawyer Weekly