ISBA to establish succession planning study committee
Share |

The ISBA is forming a study committee focused on the implementation of Iowa Rule 39.18 that requires attorneys to have a succession plan in place no later than Jan. 1, 2017. The study committee, chaired by ISBA Immediate Past President Joe Feller, hopes to address some of the concerns stemming from the rule.


The rule could affect more than just solo practitioners, according to Feller. After the rule was passed late last year, the ISBA and the Iowa Academy of Trust and Estate Counsel began preparing forms to help members satisfy rule requirements. When it became apparent that the rule was going to need a closer look, ISBA President Bruce Walker proposed the establishment of a study committee and charged it to research the implementation of the rule and how it is to be interpreted.


"The rule applies to many more lawyers than just the traditional sole practitioner and could impact 60 percent of our bar members,” said Feller, a solo practitioner from Sibley, Iowa. "Application of the rule as currently drafted will also lead to important issues concerning liabilities undertaken by the assisting attorneys as well as financial costs to the estate of the deceased or disabled attorney.”


The committee would aim to have its work completed in September of this year with a goal of helping members meet requirements of the rule as currently drafted, or by suggesting changes to the rule.


The following ISBA members will be a part of the study committee:

• Chair: Joe Feller, Sibley

• David Beckman, Burlington

• John (Rick) Bierman, III, Grinnell

• Philip Brooks, Cedar Rapids

• Nick Critelli, Jr., Des Moines

• Joe Holland, Iowa City

• Frank Hoyt, Jr., West Des Moines

• Kate Kohorst, Harlan

• Michel Nelson, Carroll

• Deb Petersen, Council Bluffs

• Paul Wieck, II, Clive


The ISBA will share updates regarding the study committee as they become available.