Governor appoints judicial nominating commissioners
Share |

Governor Terry Branstad has appointed 17 individuals as judicial nominating commissioners in Iowa’s 14 judicial districts, and two individuals to the Iowa Parole Board.

The commissioners, who are charged with selecting candidates for open judgeship positions in their districts, will serve six-year terms ending in 2020. Each district judicial nominating commission consists of 11 members, five of whom are appointed by the governor, and five who are elected by Iowa-licensed attorneys residing in the district. The chief judge in the district serves as the eleventh member and chair of the commission.

The names of the new commissioners elected by attorneys in the district should be available in the next day or two. They will be posted in the Legal News section of the ISBA website, and published in next week’s newsletter.

View the list of appointees made by the governor.